(Almost) healthy Pumpkin CupCakes

Okay…. so maybe healthy would be a stretch. Maybe almost healthy would be a stretch, also. But they don’t have anything artificial in them. No cake mix. No red dye. No corn syrup. Just basic, down to earth ingredients.

And…. did I mention they’re insanely delicious? I was sitting on my couch the other afternoon and suddenly I just couldn’t bare it. I had to have pumpkin cupcakes. Not just something sweet. But very specifically, my sweet tooth proclaimed, ‘PumPKin CUPcAkeS!’ And not just sometime this week. ‘NOW!’ It didn’t matter what ingredients I had on hand, I was going to find a way.

This is what I came up with.

ThisGreenEyedGirl {almost} healthy pumpkin cupcakes

 

 

 

They were heavenly! Melt in your mouth kinda good! So worth it. They totally satisfied my Autumnal sugar craving.

(sorry there’s a total lack of decent pictures in this post. Much to my displeasure and discouragement my camera is still broke. I’m hoping to replace it soon. But for this post I had to make do with the webcam. ugh.)

Here’s the recipe.

(almost) Healthy Pumpkin Cupcakes with Maple Greek Yogurt Frosting

1 C. Whole Wheat Flour

1/2 C. White All Purpose Flour

1 tsp. Baking Powder

1 tsp.  Baking Soda

1/2 tsp. Salt

1tsp. Cinnamon

1 tsp. Nutmeg

1/2 C. Brown Sugar

1/4 C. Regular Raw Sugar

BLEND THOUROUGHLY.

_______________________

1/2 tsp. Vanilla

2 C. Cubed strained Pumpkin ( there abouts… and I actually used canned butternut squash which is equivalent to pumpkin and all I had handy in my pantry. I love the taste of butternut squash in baking so if you have some, try it this way!)

3/4 C. Cocoa Powder

BLEND UNTIL WELL HOMOGONIZED.

______________________

 

1/2 C. Melted Coconut Oil.

MIX ALL INGREDIENTS.

Let sit for 3-5 minutes. Batter will be thick, not quite like cake batter.

Pour into greased muffin pan.

Bake at 400 for 16-20 minutes. Until firm to the touch and toothpick inserted comes out clean. Do not over cook. 

_____________________________

Maple Greek Yogurt Frosting

This frosting is not fat free…. being made with a butter. But it is a far cry healthier than traditional frosting. It has no Crisco or bad oils or white sugar.

1 C. Plain Greek Yogurt.

1 Stick butter, softened and cubed

1 tsp. Heavy Cream (I used cream right off the raw milk from our cow, but this is ideal, I know. For guilt free indulgence, though, shoot for raw organic dairy products.)

Blend with a fork until fluffy.

Add Maple Syrup to taste. ( I probably used about 1 1/2 Tablespoons.)

This will lightly top… dollop the cupcakes. Adjust the recipe to make more if you want to fully frost them.

______________________________

Serve warm with a dollop of frosting and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Enjoy for desert or for a treat-like breakfast in the early fall as the leaves have just begun to turn and you’re craving something that tastes of October!

(makes 12 cupcakes.)

blog-sig-renee-150x48

 

One thought on “(Almost) healthy Pumpkin CupCakes

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Transitioning to Autumn: Day 2 (#PSL LOVE) |

Leave a Reply

