31 Days of Transitioning to Autumn: Day 2 (#PSL LOVE)

No doubt, the first transition to happen in Fall is the sudden #PSL love affair. Desserts are now pumpkin laden, drinks are now spiced, and most of all we’ve all fallen head over heels in love with the pumpkin spice latte by October.

Pumpkin Spice Latte via. ThisGreenEyedGirl #psl

It calls to us. Every morning we wake and we imagine the cinnamon goodness and simply can’t fathom going back to our old love, the plain-Jane cup of joe.

I was blissfully unaware of my pre-disposition to #psl addiction until one, otherwise innocent, day in late September when I happened into a Tennessee Starbucks. I thought to myself ‘I should try something new’ So, I immediately asked for a Caramel Macchiato. Which happens to be the very thing I order whenever I feel like ordering something different and spontaneous. That’s when it hit me… the irony of ordering the SAME coffee every time I want something SPONTANIOUS. I’m not really branching out at all. I was mortified. And with that I ventured out on a limb, or some kind of sugary high, and called to the barista in a mad passion ‘GIVE ME A PUMPKIN SPICE LATTE’  *feels very proud of self*

Then… as I took that first sip….

That’s when it happened.

I. became. an. addict.

#PSL #PSL #PSL #PSL #PSL keep it coming, please. More #PSL #PSL

Pumpkin Spice Latte from ThisGreenEyedGirl

Pumpkin Spice Latte via. ThisGreenEyedGirl..Sadly, I can’t live at Starbucks. In fact, I can’t live in any coffee house. There are no

squatter’s rights, btw, just because you tell them you need to be hooked to a #PSL

life support tube piping caffeine and pumpkin into your blood in order to stay alive.

Nope. They’re heartless. They still wont let you live there.

Thus… it was necessity. I had to learn to make my own lattes.

Pumpkin Spice Latte via. ThisGreenEyedGirl

Here’s what I did to make my own:

1.) Brew a strong pot of coffee.

2.) In a blender mix (for a few seconds, until well homogenized.)

2 large spoonful’s mashed pumpkin.

2 T. Fall Flavored creamer.

2 T. Milk

1 T. Honey 

1/2 tsp. Cinnamon

1/2 tsp. Nutmeg. 

Add one mug full of coffee and pulse several times.

Pour into a small saucepan. Heat thoroughly and allow to simmer until a little foamy on top.

Fill cup and adjust sweetening to taste.

Top with whipped cream and cinnamon.

Enjoy with warm socks and a good book!

Some other great pumpkin recipes to see can be found here and here and here.

blog-sig-renee2

6 thoughts on “31 Days of Transitioning to Autumn: Day 2 (#PSL LOVE)

  1. You had me at “pumpkin”! This is very similar to a recipe that our local paper ran. I’m going to try out your version and theirs, which I don’t think will be very different in the end. Pumpkin is pumpkin is pumpkin.

    Thanks for sharing, Renee! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 31 Days of Transitioning to Autumn: day 9 {Amish} Pumpkin Pie |

Leave a Reply

