Recipe File: Cinnamon, Coconut, Blueberry Shake.

Every day after I work out I drink a smoothie/shake. I LOVE them. Sometimes I’ll drink one for desert later, too. You can cram so much more nutrients into it than you’d be able to eat in one sitting otherwise and the bonus is it’s like eating ice cream or drinking a milk shake.

After I work out I typically add one organic farm-fresh raw egg to it. That’s optional. I just do that to help myself build muscle.

I always have my shake within 30 minutes of working out so that my metabolism does not start to burn into the muscle mass.  I recommend eating a post work-out snack containing the most quickly digestible protein & carbs you can. Liquid form is best. And protein and carb forms that do not slow your digestion.

blog pic

 

Here’s a recipe I came up with for the Cinnamon, Coconut, Blueberry Shake.

It makes a great go-to breakfast smoothie or anytime of the day snack.

In a blender combine:

2 bananas

About 1/4 cup blueberries

About 1/4 cup uncooked oats.

Add coconut milk to almost cover the fruit&oats.  (about 1 1/2 cups, I think)

A dash of cinnamon (about 1 tsp.)

5-8 ice cubes.

1/4 cup Blueberry Kefir

OPTIONAL:

I add about 1 tsp. of Flax Seed Oil because the shake masks the flavor so it’s a great time to get my daily dose.

1 ORGANIC FARM-FRESH raw egg.

 

Blend.

In the photo I garnished with home-grown mint.

ENJOY 🙂

You can read about kefir here if you’re not familiar with it.

Have a great day everybody!

blog-sig-renee-150x48

 

 

Leave a comment